CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) UPDATES: City facilities are open to the public. Find the latest updates at

Council Members Jody Brennan, Matt Lehman, Mayor Bill Mars, Jay Whiting, Angelica Contreras

Mayor & City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The mayor and City Council are the elected policy makers for the City of Shakopee. Their responsibilities include:

  • Adopting and enforcing ordinances
  • Establishing public and administrative policies 
  • Appointing the city administrator and administrative staff
  • Creating boards and commissions
  • Managing the city's financial operations, including levying taxes, approving a budget, auditing expenditures and borrowing money
  • Transacting all other city business as required by law.

The five members of the City Council also serve as the Economic Development Authority (EDA).

The mayor is the chief executive officer of the city and presides at meetings of the City Council. The mayor is a voting member of the council, with no power of veto. The mayor is elected to serve a four-year term and receives an annual salary of $15,000. Four City Council members are elected to staggered, four-year terms. A council member’s annual salary is $7,500. Both the mayor and the City Council members are elected at-large, on a nonpartisan basis.

City Council Meetings

The City Council meets regularly on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7 p.m., with special sessions scheduled when necessary. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 485 Gorman St. Find information about attending and/or speaking at a City Council meeting.

Agenda packets containing background information on each agenda and minutes are published online and in the Shakopee Valley News.

 Mayor Bill Mars

Mayor Bill Mars

Phone: 952-445-4228

First Took Office: Jan. 1, 2016 | Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2022

Liaisons: Metro Cities, Minnesota League of Cities, Railroad Committee and Interworking Group

 Jody Brennan

Council Member Jody Brennan

Phone: 952-687-7536

First Took Office: Jan. 1, 2019 | Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2022

Liaisons: SCALE, interview board and Parks, Trails and Open Space Steering Committee

 Angelica Contreras

Council Member Angelica Contreras

Phone: 612-758-0406

First Took Office: Jan. 1, 2019 | Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2022

Liaisons: Shakopee School District and Shakopee Diversity Alliance

 Matt Lehman

Council Member Matt Lehman

Phone: 952-496-2069

First Took Office: Jan. 1, 2002 | Term expires: Dec. 31, 2020

Liaisons: Vice Mayor, Shakopee Public Utilities Commission, Highway 169 Corridor Board and Railroad Board

 Jay Whiting

Council Member Jay Whiting

Phone: 952-657-5623

First Took Office: Jan. 1, 2012 | Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2020

Liaisons: Minnesota Valley Transit Authority, Downtown Shakopee, interview board and Economic Development Authority president